Public Document Pack

CHESHIRE EAST COUNCIL

Minutes of a meeting of the Local Authority School Governor Appointments Panel

held on Friday, 16th October, 2009 in the Capesthorne Room, Macclesfield Town Hall

PRESENT

Councillor D Thompson (Chairman)
Councillors B Dykes, P Findlow, T Jackson, S Jones and G Merry

Apology

Councillor D Flude

11 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No Member made any specific declaration of interest in any item of business on the agenda at this point in the proceedings. Notwithstanding this, each Member declared a personal interest in agenda item 6 (Local Authority Appointments to School Governing Bodies) in respect of any nominee who was a Cheshire East Councillor.

12 PUBLIC SPEAKING TIME/OPEN SESSION

In accordance with procedure Rules 11 and 35, a total of 10 minutes was allocated for members of the public to address the Panel on any matter relevant to its work.

No members of the public were in attendance and the Panel, therefore, proceeded to its next business.

13 MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING

RESOLVED: That the minutes of the meeting held on 24th July 2009 be approved as a correct record.

14 EXCLUSION OF PRESS AND PUBLIC

RESOLVED: That the press and public be excluded from the meeting during consideration of the following item, pursuant to Section 100(A)4 of the Local Government Act 1972 on the grounds that it involved the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Paragraph 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972 and the public interest would not be served in publishing the information.

15 LOCAL AUTHORITY APPOINTMENTS TO SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES

The Local Authority School Governor Appointments Panel considered the report of the Strategic Director – People, which informed Members of current Local Authority School Governor vacancies within Cheshire East maintained schools and recommended individuals for appointment and reappointment to identified posts. Additional information in respect of five new appointments was tabled, together with two re-appointments.

There were 359 LA Governor positions across Cheshire East's 151 maintained schools. 97 of these positions (27%) were currently vacant. The latest benchmarking information (2009) showed 10.1% of all LA Governor positions to be vacant and 10.8% of all governor positions (of all categories)

It was noted that subsequent to the previous meeting, it had transpired that there was only one vacancy at Acton CE Primary School. Mr A I Matthews and Mr J Percival had been appointed to the same vacancy. It was now reported that Mr J Beech, whose term of office as a Governor at Acton CE School had come to an end on 31st August 2009, was unable to continue as a governor for health reasons and did not wish to be considered for reappointment. In the light of this, there were now two vacancies to be filled at Acton School.

RESOLVED: (a) That Mr J Percival be appointed to one of the two vacancies at Acton CE Primary School with effect from 17th October 2009;

- (b) That Mr A I Matthews be appointed to the second vacancy at Acton CE Primary School with effect from 17th October 2009;
- (c) That the following appointments be approved with effect from 17th October 2009, for a four year period;

ASTBURY ST MARY'S CE PRIMARY SCHOOL Mrs S Howell

BOSLEY ST MARY'S PRIMARY SCHOOL Ms P Hughes

BUNBURY ALDERSEY CE PRIMARY SCHOOL Mr W Done

DISLEY PRIMARY SCHOOL Mrs B Sellers

MACCLESFIELD HIGH SCHOOL Dr B Brett

MIDDLEWICH HIGH SCHOOL Mrs J Langford

MIDDLEWICH HIGH SCHOOL Dr P Robinson

MIDDLEWICH HIGH SCHOOL Mrs K Broad

MOSSLEY C OF E PRIMARY SCHOOL, CONGLETON Mr I Boyes

PEOVER SUPERIOR PRIMARY SCHOOL Mr G Lea

SCHOLAR GREEN PRIMARY SCHOOL Clir Rhoda Bailey

ST ALBANS CATHOLIC PRIMARY SCHOOL Mr N Mannion

STAPELEY BROAD LANE C OF E PRIMARY SCHOOL Mrs S Gwinn-Freemantle

UPTON PRIORY Mrs J Darlington

(d) That the following Local Authority Governors, who had requested reappointment, and whose term of office ended on the date indicated, be reappointed with effect from the following day (except where the date had already passed, in which case re-appointment would be effective from 17th October 2009) –

ADLINGTON PRIMARY SCHOOL
Mrs M Ridgway 31 August 2009

BROKEN CROSS PRIMARY SCHOOL Miss C Andrew 15 January 2010

DISLEY PRIMARY SCHOOL
Mrs M Duddy 31 August 2009

GOOSTREY PRIMARY SCHOOL
Mrs E Foster-Clark 26 February 2010

GOOSTREY PRIMARY SCHOOL
Mr D Smith 1 November 2009

HASLINGTON PRIMARY SCHOOL
Mrs S Hammond 1 February 2010

HIGHFIELDS PRIMARY SCHOOL, NANTWICH Mrs M Simpson 8 November 2009

HOLLINHEY PRIMARY SCHOOL

Mr B Hardern 1 February 2010

LINDOW PRIMARY SCHOOL

Mr D Mowat 31 January 2010

PEAR TREE PRIMARY SCHOOL

Mr A Martin 10 January 2010

RUSKIN SPORTS COLLEGE

Mrs P Minshall 31 January 2009

RUSKIN SPORTS COLLEGE

Mr J Rhodes 31 December 2009

WEAVER PRIMARY SCHOOL

Mr J Lewis 10 January 2010

WYBUNBURY DELVES CE PRIMARY SCHOOL Mr D Charlesworth 1 February 2010

(Notes: (1) During discussion of the appointments in (c) above, Councillors B Dykes, S Jones and P Findlow each declared a personal interest in the appointment of Mr W Done to Bunbury Aldersey CE Primary School on the basis that they were acquainted with him; and

(2) During discussion of the re-appointments in (d), Councillors T Jackson, P Findlow and D Thompson each declared a personal interest on the basis that they were acquainted with the following Governors who had been reappointed –

Mrs M Ridgway - Adlington Primary School, Mr B Hardern - Hollinhey Primary School and Mrs M Duddy - Disley Primary School;

Councillors G Merry, S Jones and T Jackson each declared a personal interest in the re-appointment of Mrs E Foster-Clark to Goostrey Primary School on the basis that they were acquainted with her;

all Members declared a personal interest in the re-appointment of Councillor C Andrew to Broken Cross Primary School and Councillor A Martin to Pear Tree Primary School on the basis that they were Council colleagues of each; and Councillor D Thompson declared a personal interest in the re-appointment of Mr D Mowat to Lindow Primary School on the basis that she was acquainted with him.)

16 DATE OF NEXT MEETING

Friday, 22nd January 2010 (10.00 am – Capesthorne Room, Macclesfield).

The meeting commenced at 10.00 am and concluded at 10.50 am Councillor D Thompson (Chairman)

